Publishing app projects
Once you are done editing your app project in Woodford, you need to save and publish the project. Click Publish and wait for the process to finish. If the published project has the highest priority of all available projects for a particular user role, those users will now receive the updated project during synchronization.
Publish all projects
This button is useful if you are using project hierarchy. Any change in the parent project requires that all child projects are republished. To save you unnecessary clicking and to ensure that you don't accidentally omit one of the child projects, use the Publish All button.
For more information, see the feature introduction
When publishing, app projects are first validated, i.e., the system verifies that the app can successfully run the project. Validation also launches whenever you publish a project.
Publishing with older version
If you publish an app project with a newer Woodford version than is the mobile app version of your users, synchronization may fail with the error Unsupported metadata version. In this case, you have two options:
- Ask your mobile users to upgrade to the most recent version of the mobile app.
- Republish the project with an older release version. As Publish Version, select a version compatible with your mobile apps, then click Publish.
When you decrease the app version while publishing, most (*) of the new Woodford features are removed from the published project, even if you enabled them in your project. This is because the older version of the Resco mobile apps is not able to use these features, as they are not yet implemented in the version of the app used on devices.
*Some features are not removed; for example, Execute JS from rules. In this case, either remove the new functions from the project or make users to update their apps.
If you're not sure what version of Resco mobile apps are your users working with, you can find this information on the device control screen, in the AppVersion column. Of course, you also need to check the Synchronized on column. When users reinstall Resco apps, the device ID changes, i.e., the same device can be listed more than once. Check only the latest occurrence per user.
When you publish an app project, this automatically grants some additional permissions to the user roles selected for the project. Users gain access to custom Resco entities necessary for Resco mobile apps to function correctly.
- Read permission: AppProject entities (resco_mobiledata, resco_mobileproject), resco_mobilelicense (for backup license verification while the Resco licensing service is down), resco_mobilereport
- Write (possibly including append, appendto, create, delete) permissions:
- resco_mobileaudit, resco_mobiledevice, resco_mobiletracking, resco_favorite, resco_devicecontrol, resco_mobilesecuritypolicy
- chat entities (resco_chatcomment, resco_chatpost, resco_chattopic, resco_chatuser)
Additional entities for Resco Cloud:
- Read: organization, businessunit, role, team, activitypointer, activityparty, roleprivileges, mobilelocalization, resco_workflowlog
- Read/Write: systemuser
- Read/AppendTo: transactioncurrency